Let’s Turn The Tables Around

As some of you may be aware, I am going through a career transition.  This is definitely not the right economy to do it, but really, when is?  My first week in 2011, and I got an interview for this job I applied for in early December.  I was very excited as it appeared to be a fabulous opportunity with this well-known global company.  I started prepping early to make sure I rocked the interview; and that, indeed I did!

So what’s my beef?  Companies that fabricate job titles and job descriptions that are completely inaccurate to create a large competition.  If I fabricated my resume, I would get caught in a heartbeat.  Why? Because I would confess it all during the interview.  Because eventually one always gets caught?  Because I have a conscience.  “Keeping it Real” – that’s how I roll.  So why is it okay for me to spend time preparing for an interview that appears to be this glorious opportunity when it resembles up-selling knives to an experienced butcher?  Okay, I am not knocking those that may do that for a living, but this diva is not a Henkels marketer.

I am sure you are curious as to the name of company I am referring to; unfortunately, I am can’t release that information (who knows, maybe I was being Punk’d).  All I can say is if an interviewee asks more questions than the interviewer and talked more than them there should be some red flags.  Some of the questions I asked were tough, so it was nice to see the tables turned.  Perhaps next time I should ask  “Why do you think I will be the best person for this job?”, “What makes you the right fit for me?”, “Can you provide references to confirm your employees are satisfied with your company and performance?”.  Hmm, perhaps I should have stuck with that HR program in college after all.

I do not mean any disrespect to this interviewer.  All I am saying is that I was being open and honest with them, and it would have been nice for then to do the same. I am authentic because I don’t know how to be anyone else.  I am the same person whether I’m wearing a business suit, evening ball gown, or MC Hammer pants.

Lessons learned:  1) Check all reviews about a company you are applying for.  I came across a number of negative comments from current and past employees about this one in particular, but I truly wanted to find out for myself. 2) If a posting seems way too good to be true, go with your instinct all that glitters is not from Tiffany’s. 3) Remind yourself that every unsatisfying experience is not a loss as you have acquired information that you didn’t know before “and learning is half the battle…. GI Joe!”

Stay Smart,

Interviewing Diva

Leave a Reply

